Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Some people assert that political leaders must comply with public opinion and abandon their own principles, and others believe that effective leader must remain their principles. In my opinion, although yielding to public opinion is the basic of democracy, public debate may cause chaos and irrational bills.

Obeying public opinion is crucial for a democracy. According to American political scientist Larry Diamond, democracy consists of four key elements: a political system for choosing and replacing the government through free and fair elections; the active participation of the people, as citizens, in politics and civic life; protection of the human rights of all citizens; a rule of law, in which the laws and procedures apply equally to all citizens. Moreover, he states that the best opinion can win after public debate like in the ancient Greek and the nation administration can be efficient.

However, public debate may cause low-efficiency. In the book Public Opinion by famous politician Lippmann, he claims that in the process of public debate, people who hold different opinions may have severe conflicts and cause hysteria in the whole society. Take the US as an example. With the increasing polarization of public opinion of the US, both citizens who hold conservative and liberal opinions can not persuade each other. Even the president of the US- Donald Trump – accused CNN, a news organization leaning left fake news more than 20 times in the year of 2018. Facing probability of creating accusations of “fake news”, public opinion has already lost its unique position as the guidance of political resolutions.

In addition, public may make irrational voice towards political issues. The public is not always rational. For example, in the cultural revolution in China happened in the 1960s, Chinese citizens lost their sanity. Humiliating even killing other people is common. More recently, Brexit is another good example. Most citizens in the UK even do not know what Brexit means for the future development of Britain, and the only thing they go after is expelling those refuges from the empire in which the sun never sets.

In a nutshell, public opinion which is the core of democracy, may cause chaos and irrational political decisions.