The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce

absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where

fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the

treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds

represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend

the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to

prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that the daily use of lchthaid is a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism. To bolster this conclusion, the author points out that people in East Meria where fish consumption is very high seldom visit doctors. However, unless the author provides more convincing evidence to back the argument, it does not hold water.

The writer mentions that eating a large amount of fish can prevent colds because people in East Meria seldom visit doctor and they consume a lot of fish. Firstly, visiting once or twice per year is whether a small number lacks of detailed evidence. If most people living in West Meria never visit doctor, visiting doctor once per year is more frequent than that in West Meria. Moreover, even if visiting doctors once or twice a year is really seldom, the analogy between West Meria and East Meria might be unsubstantiated. The author fails to illustrate that West Meria and East Meria are similar enough at every aspect and are indeed comparable. On every likelihood, the reason why residents living in East Meria do not get cold is that the environment is much cleaner than West Meria, and people there do sports more frequently. Thus, unless the author gives comprehensive evidence that West Meria and East Meria are identical in every aspect, the statement is convincing enough.

Additionally, the statement that colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work is unjustifiable. It is all possible that getting colds are people’s excuses to be absent from school and work, and maybe they are just too tired to get to work or school, and telling the teacher or their boss they unfortunately get cold can avoid being embarrassed and having conflicts with their teacher and boss. In a conclusion, the claim that colds are the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work is unwarranted.

Lastly, the author recommends the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism. But in the previous report, the author only demonstrate eating fish may prevent cold, but bot Ichthaid, and the author commits a fallacy of hasty generalization that fish oil is equivalent to fish itself. But in making fish oil, some nutrients may be filtered and that filtered nutrients may be the real substance that prevent people from getting cold. Therefore, without specifying specific evidence that fish and fish oil are similar to each other, this recommendation is not solid enough.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it lacks indispensable evidence. To strengthen it, the author needs to demonstrate the comparability of West Meria and East Meria, make sure that absent people who claim they get cold are not lying and the similarity between fish and fish oil. If the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been thorough and logically acceptable.