The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that government should educate people about bicycle safety and less encourage bicyclists to wear helmets, because with more and more bicyclists wearing helmets, more accidents happened. Although there are two studies to demonstrate the recommendation, it is still replete with a myriad of assumptions which could not suffice to back the argument.

Firstly, the author indicates that there are more cyclists wearing helmets now on the basis of the fact that there are 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, and there are nearly 80 percent of cyclists wearing helmets now. However, this statement is unwarranted. The author only informs the portion of people who wear helmets, but the base number is unknown. Perhaps there are more than 1000 people driving bicyclists ten years ago, and there are 350 bicyclists who wear helmets. On the contrary, because of the promotion of car roads, there are more people driving cars to commute, less than 100 people taking bicycle to go to work or school now, and only less than 35 bicyclists wearing helmets. In this circumstance, there are fewer people who wear helmet now than 10 years ago, and cyclists will not feel safer. Thus, for lack of detailed information about the base number of the portion, we can hardly access whether cyclists feel safer or not.

Secondly, the assumption that bicyclists take more risks because the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent in the past 10 years is unjustifiable. Those bicycle-related accidents may not all because of misbehavior of bicyclists. It is entirely possible that the regulations on vehicles and pedestrians are not strict enough so that there are increasing number of cars and pedestrians breaking traffic laws like running red lights and driving overspeed, which cause more accidents than before and bicyclists are actually victims. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should provide further details about how many accidents of those all bicycle-related accidents which are accused of bicyclists.

Thirdly, the author implicates that there are more serious injuries because there are more accidents happened now than before. But this implication is unconvincing because of lack of indispensable evidence to support the statement. More accidents do not necessarily lead to more injuries. If more bicyclists wear helmets, they will not be easy to get hurt from accidents, and with the development of safety equipment on cars, drivers of cars are safer than before. Therefore, without additional data and surveys that verify more injuries happen now than before, the recommendation is not convincing enough.

In a nutshell, the argument indefensible as it relies on certain doubtful assumptions and implications. To strengthen it, we would need to demonstrate the base number of the portion, the number of accidents that are attributed to bicyclists and injuries. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more thorough and logically acceptable.