48. The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement. "Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that Clearview is a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire. To bolster the argument, the author points out that the house price has fallen in Clearview, and there will be new programs as well as excellent health care. However, unless the author provides more convincing evidence to back the argument, it does not hold water.

First, the author mentions that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. However, the author fails to provide any evidence to support the assumption. Perhaps, housing price in region near Clearview is much higher than other region of the country like 200%,because of convenient transportation, beautiful landscape and consistent climate. Thus, although the price decreased significantly last year, it may be still much more expensive than the average estate price of the state. Therefore, to back the assumption, the author should provide more information about the original housing price of this region near Clearview.

Second, the statement that Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services is unjustifiable. It is likely that the mayor just put off their plans or present the splendid words that help them to be a will-be leader, but whether those new programs like schools, streets and public services will be built or not is uncertain. Thus, without additional information of whether those programs will be built, it is difficult to access the merit of the statement.

Third, the author indicates that because the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average, there is excellent health care in Clearview. But the implication is unwarranted. If those physicians are all gynecologists or pediatricians who are although physicians, major in giving birth or children, cannot help the health care of elderly citizens. In conclusion, in order to better bolster the recommendation, I would need more detailed information involving what those physicians are exactly for.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it relies on several indefensible assumptions. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more logically acceptable.