Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In an age of “Amusing Ourselves to Death”, it is true that creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality behind that image. Nobody has cared of serious topics, but has been immersed in comedies and amusement. What a fucking world we are living in?

Politicians get endorsement because of their image instead of their charisma or eloquence. Take the president of the United States – Donald Trump – as an example. Known for making stupid speech, preaching trade protectionism as well as populism, and disseminating fake news, the president is expert in creating an image of frankness and lower-class friendliness. There are few people really know or even care about Trump’s ability or leadership, instead, they just feel amused when browsing his Twitter and watching him delivering funny speeches. In this world which is flooded with fake news and disinformation, people cannot believe in anything, not to mention politicians’ promise. Thus, they prefer to be immersed in funny Tweets and comedies.

Celebrities always go popular because of their appearance or image rather than their singing or acting skills. Feminists, equal right exponents or even LGBTs are not only one kind of people, but also images which can win celebrities more followers. For example, when we talk about actress with high IQ or feminists, we will think of Emma Watson, and when we talk about vegetarian or animal protectionist, we will think about Natalie Portman. But those are only superficial images, and no one knows whether they are really what they seem like. Recently, Natalie claimed that we should not drink milk because they are part of cows, and drinking milk is disrespectful to “women”. It is clearly that she does not know anything about feminism, and so-called feminist is just a disguised image to appeal more left-winged and radical teenagers.

Moreover, a country can win more followers always because of its propaganda rather than the well-being of its citizens. China is a good example. Using a variety tools of propaganda like movies which propagate the prosperity of Chinese economy and microblog accounts which praise the strong will and collaboration of Chinese citizens, the Communist party has attracted a large number of youngsters to be its loyal opponents. Those young people do not care about whether the party is authoritative or not, whether it will guarantee the fundamental rights of human beings, they just believe in those propagandas.

In a nutshell, in contemporary society, people care more about superficial images than reality behind those images.