27. The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper. "Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that an extra bicycle lane rather than an additional lane of traffic should be added to address the problem of increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway, because there was a worsening of traffic after another lane being built on Green Highway. However, unless the author provides more convincing evidence to back the argument, it does not hold water.

First, the author indicates that because adding an lane to nearby Green Highway to solve the traffic problem fails, additional traffic lane should not be built on Blue Highway. The analogy between the two different highways might be unsubstantiated, and the author fails to illustrate that the two highways are similar enough at every aspect and are indeed comparable. More evidences like same number of initial lanes, similar traffic flow and same habitats as well as preferred lifestyle of residents near the highways are needed to strengthen the argument.

Second, the writer mentions that because many area residents are keen bicyclists and a bicycle lane would encourage commuters to use bicycles to commute, a bicycle lane should be built. However, the author fails to provide any evidence to support the assumption. Perhaps, commuters’ company are very far from their house and it may take them more than 2 hours to commute if they ride bicycles, and it is also likely that residents just pretend to be keen on bicycles by posting their riding photos on instagram showing their healthy lifestyle. Therefore, to back the assumption, the author should provide more information about the location of residents’ company and their real preference towards transportation.

Third, even more residents decide to commute by bicycle, rush-hour traffic may not be shortened. It is possible that parents have to take their children to school by car and then drive their cars back to home to ride bicycle and go to work. In the past, parents only need to pass the Blue Highway once a morning, but now it becomes twice, and the consequence is the highway becomes even more crowed. In conclusion, without additional evidence of commuting by bicycle can really eliminate the traffic problem, it is difficult to access the merit of the recommendation of adding a bicycle lane.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it lacks specific evidence. Thus, if the argument had included the given factors discussed before, it would have been more logically acceptable.