Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek

immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that young people should pursue long-term realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition. Admittedly, immediate fame and recognition can bring out incentive and motivation for young people, long-term and realistic goals can cultivate people’s interest and elevate their skills.

Immediate fame and recognition are important for students, entrepreneurs as well as celebrities. When students get higher GPA, they will be more confident for themselves and have more motivations to work harder in the future; when entrepreneurs gain immediate success and the first bucket of gold, they are more likely to carry on to pursue future success; when celebrities become popular suddenly, they will have incentive to go after more awards and better reputation thus, immediate success can encourage young people to hold on.

However, immediate fame and reputation may make people overestimate their ability. Take Oasis as an example. The rock band from Manchester went virus in the 1990s and became one of the most famous bands in the U.K. But embedded with praise and approval, the key members of the band- Liam Gallagher and Noel Gallagher were so arrogant that had serious conflict with the other band named Blur and even said “John Lennon is the most brilliant musician in the world and we are just John Lennon.” But in the 2000s, they have created very few brilliant songs and become vulgar in recent years.

On the contrary, long-term and realistic goals can cultivate people’s interest and improve their ability. For example, in the movie Girl, the heroine Lara, a lesbian, dreams to be a ballet dancer. And in order to achieve the dream, she practices hard every day and endeavors to dance as other girls in the school.

In the nutshell, although immediate fame can motive young people, it may make them arrogant, and long-term goals can cultivate people’s ability and interests in a deeper way.