1. Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that Lalean baskets were not uniquely Palean, but also were made people in Lithos. To bolster the argument, the author points out that those baskets found in Lithos were not carried by Paleans. However, unless the author provides more convincing evidence to back the argument, it does not hold water.

First, the author mentions the Brim River between Palea and Lithos is very deep and broad, thus ancient residents could only cross the river by boat. However, the author fails to provide any evidence to support the assumption. Perhaps, ancient Palean lived more than 5000 years ago, and terrain and landscape has changed a lot during 5000 years. Maybe because of climate warming, the glaciers in the root of the river have melted a lot and the volume of the Brim River has increased dramatically in recent years. Therefore, in ancient times, the Brim River may be very small and ancient people including Paleans can easily crossed the river without any auxiliary instrument. To back the assumption, in a conclusion, the author should provide more information about the feature of the river in ancient times.

Second, even if the Brim River remained deep and broad thousands of years, the statement that ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat is unjustifiable. It is possible that ancient Paleans built a bridge to cross the river. Or it is likely that the downstream of the Brim River was relatively shallow and was easy to cross, Paleans just detoured to the downstream where was not much far from their village to cross the river and to trade with residents living in Lithos. Thus, without additional information of the way that Paleans crossed the river, it is difficult to access the merit of this statement.

Third, the author indicates that because Palean could only cross the river by boat and no Palean boats have been found there, Palean never crossed the river carrying Lalean baskets to Lithos. But the argument is unwarranted. Because made by ancient people were mostly made by wood which could hardly be preserved for more than a hundred years, no Palean boats can be found now no matter Paleans made boats to cross the river or not. In conclusion, in order to better bolster the recommendation, I would need more detailed information involving more reasonable evidence of boat making.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it lack specific evidence. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more logically acceptable.