57.The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the benefit of studying history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are totally different from people who lived in earlier times. Admittedly, there are differences between people living now and living in the past, yet there are more similarities we all share.

Human who whether living in the past or living in modern times have same human nature. For example, when I read the book Pride and Prejudice, I found that Mr Darcy is so familiar to me. There are also people surrounding me like him, in high social status, well-educated, rich and disdaining people in lower class. People are same all the time. People drinking wine in luxurious restaurant dismiss those who drink beer in little bar, and people eating foie gras always dismiss people ordering hamburgers. As one person step into higher social stratum, he or she will think themselves as elitistic and thus despise other people.

In addition, there are always similar themes of novels from 19th century to now - the fear of loneliness and the request for idealistic way of life. For instance, the protagonist in the book the Outsider is alien to common people. He is disinterested and overlook ethics and moral principles, and cannot be understood by most people. Just like the outsider in the book of 1950s, the hero in a movie called We Are Little Zombies of 2019 is also a outsider who lost his parents in a accident but could not feel sadness. This kind of indifference and loneliness cannot disappear because of time or the development of technology. Also, take the book The Moon and Sixpence as an example. The protagonist in the book quit his coveted job and leave his family to pursue his dream of becoming a painter. The pursue of idealistic way of life does not only exist in books of 20th century but also exit in movies in the 2000s. The Dreamers, for instance, portrayed a couple of twin having innocent but pure pursuit for liberty and sincerity. In conclusion, no matter how our living style is changing, we human being always face same problems and same dilemma.

In my opinion, the most important benefit to learn history is to establish your own identity. Identity is very crucial for both country and person. We are all like Sisyphus who spent his entire life trying to push the stone to the top of the hill but failed all the time. The life is meaningless, but we have to live after all for our own uniqueness - the thing that differentiate yourself from the others, and identity is exactly what makes you unique and thus, is what people are trying to find. Through studying history, people can have more understanding of what happened to their ancestors - the glorious past and the miserable suffers. People feel proud by reading the achievements made by ancient people, and feel sympathetic by reading those plagues and slaughters, and thus people begin to know where are they from and who are they. It seems like although surrounded by strangers with poker faces, we all belong to a group, or maybe one ancestor hundreds of years ago, and we are not alone anymore.

In a nutshell, human all have same human nature and face similar troubles in the historical long river, and the reason why we learn history is to find our own identity.