Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating

accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-thedark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being injured by investing in protective gear and reflective equipment, and the author use a survey to bolster the argument. However, it is still replete with a myriad of assumptions which could not suffice to back the argument.

Firstly, the survey that 75 percent of roller skaters in the emergency room had not been wearing any protective clothing or light-reflecting material is not warranted, because the people who are selected might not be representative of the whole general group. It is likely that many roller skaters who get injured in accident do not go to the emergency room because they can not afford the treatment fee or they may have personal doctors who can cure their injury. Therefore, to strengthen the survey, the author should provide additional survey on all the roller skaters who get injured in accident.

Secondly, the survey regarding people who had accidents in streets or parking lots is unjustifiable, because it does not involve places like roller skating rink or other places that are reserved for roller skaters. If roller skaters without protective clothes or light-reflecting equipment seldom get hurt in those places, and only 1 % of them are injured, this survey is not convincing. Thus, without another more detailed survey of people who get hurt in roller skating rink, it is difficult to access the merit of the incomplete survey.

Thirdly, the author assumes that roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident after wearing protective clothes and reflective equipment. But the assumption is indefensible. Perhaps people can still get injured wearing those equipment in very dangerous streets, and if they do not have sense of security and continue to chat while skating, they will still be hurt badly. In conclusion, in order to better bolster the assumption, I need more information about whether those roller-skaters have sense of security or not.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it relies on several unstated assumptions. To justify it, we would need to demonstrate the survey and the place roller skaters skate. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been logically possible.