The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this argument, the author concludes that restricting water flow of waterheads in the twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers can increase profit dramatically. To bolster this argument, the author points out the modification to restrict the maximum water flow in the first three buildings bring out savings for Sunnyside Corporation. However, unless several questions being answered, this argument is not convincing enough.

First, the author uses the modification of showerheads in the first three buildings as evidence of the positive prospect of modification of showerheads in the all twelve buildings. But the analogy between the first three buildings and all the twelve buildings might be unsubstantiated. Are the first three buildings and the twelve buildings are similar enough to be comparable? Perhaps the employees in the first three buildings are more aware of water-saving and thus the water usage is lower than before. Moreover, it is likely that the worker in the first three buildings used to use a large quantity of water which is much larger than the restriction volume, and the workers working in the other nine buildings used to use a small quantity of water and the new modification has no effect on them. Therefore, there may be considerable savings of the first three buildings, but at the same time no considerable savings of the other nine buildings.

Second, the statement that there are few complaints about the low water pressure and there are no problems with showers being reported is unjustifiable. To begin with, the author only implies that there are few complaints about low pressure, but what about the base number? If only 10 employees have used the shower, but 6 of them have complained of water pressure, the percentage is 60%, which is relatively high. Thus, without detailed information of the base number of the total number of those who have used the showerheads, the implication is unwarranted. In addition, no problems being reported does not mean no problems at all. Have all the employees who have problems with the showerhead reported those problems? Maybe many employees do not have time to report the problems of the showerheads, and many of them are worried about offending their boss. In a conclusion, substantial surveys are needed to strengthen the statement that there are few problems of the showerheads.

Third, the author fails to provide any evidence to support the prediction that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase the company’s profits even more dramatically. Profitability is both restricted by revenue and expense. Without weighing revenue against expense, it is weak to indicate that the profit will increase. Does the revenue increase along with the shrinkage of expenses? The company may be influence by the worldwide economic downturn and suffers the difficulty of finance, and the total revenue has slumped greatly. Therefore, although the expenses decrease thanks to the restriction of the water flow, the profit may drop. To back the prediction, the author should also provide information about the revenue of the company as well.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as additional questions should be answered. To validate the argument, we would need to demonstrate the similarity between the first three building and the other nine buildings, the problems of the restriction, and whether the profit can increase or not.