The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author asserts that changing showerheads to decrease water flow have to be implemented throughout all of the buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex because it will clearly make significantly more profits to it than before. Regarding to the examples the author has shown in the letter, it seems plausible that all twelve buildings in the complex are needed to modifying showerheads. However, because of the reasons I would like to elaborate at the following essay, the author’s claim is rife with holes and assumptions, not thus, strong enough to lead the manager of complex to changing all the showerheads.

First, the author have to be answered about that this change will really result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation. According to the letter, it seems that even the author is not clearly sure to the prediction about the water usage before and after the policy. Moreover, other factors may cause an increasing of the entire water usage in the complex because taking a shower cannot be the only factor related to the water usage. For example, we have to need use lots of water for laundry, dishwashing, cleaning, and more chores in household. Water usage used for those works are needed to be saved in a proper level, however, it does not mean that we can be confident the decrease of entire water usage in the complex by implementing the new policy. To sum up, the author should explain about the other possible remaining factors related to readings of water usage in the complex.

Second, the author shows that just a few complaints about the low water pressure had been impugned by the resident living in the complex. However, the author needs to evidence how much the real number of the complaints are because we just do not know if the evinced data is shown just an uncertained quantifier like ‘a few’. The complaints may be ‘a few’ irritations to the owner, however, its number may be actually one thousand or more. Furthermore, the author presumed that a few complaints are able to warrant there are no problems with showers from the adjustment in the complex. However, it just took one month ago, which may be a very short time for watching the real effect of changing showerheads. In summary, the author is strongly recommended to provide further information for answering question a few complaints about low water pressure really can warrant that nothing problems are happened in the complex.

Finally, the author needs to prove that all the circumstances of the buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex is clearly equivalent to each other. Because we may envision some different or even extremely bizarre situations about the other nine buildings in the complex. For instance, some apartments among those buildings may be on relatively highlands which may cause a serious low water pressure because of the distance from the water to the households in this building. In this case, changing showerheads may not be a sufficient solution to fix the problem.

The low water pressure is one of the most significant problems for the living in any residence because we cannot live without using the water. However, in the lights of the counterparts above, the author’s claim cannot be fully agreed with.