The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While it may be true that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase profits even more dramatically. This argument does not make any cogent case for modifying Showerheads. It is easy to understand why modifying Showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase profits even more dramatically. But, the argument is rife with holes and assumption, and thus, not strong enough to support author's recommendation. I think there may be some other factors which may make author's argument to be invalid. Hence the argument is incomplete.

Initially, the here author readily assumes that one month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one third of what it used to be. This is merely an assumption without solid ground. Since, the author mention only that, that first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one third of what it used and no other figure. It is probable that one third is not a noticeable change without giving more information on it. Hence the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly stated exact statitical information on water flow.

Moreover, the argument here states that although actual reading of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside corporation and the author's understanding is assumption is that because the corporation must pay for water each month.This again is the weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between author's conclusion and the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside corporation.

Further, author needs to provide strong evidence that will support author's claim that change will obviously result in a considerable savings. However, author does not provide any statistical information on actual reading of water usage before and after the adjustment which ultimately weakens the author's argument. If the argument had provided evidence that change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside corporation, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Additionally, the author states that except for a few month about low water pressure, no problems with shower have been reported since the adjustment. this groundless the author's claim. As it may possible that many people who lives in that buildings are quite introvert in nature excepting few and decided not to complain or it may equally possible that they temporary residents of that buildings so they avoided complaining. any of these scenarios, if true would serve to weaken the author's conclusion and in turn , undermine the author's claim.

Lastly, the author states that modifying shower heads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside towers complex will increase profits even more dramatically. however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's claim. For eg, it my possible that infrastructure of remaining nine buildings are different from that three building and they may face more problems compared to other buildings. However, author provide evidence of complains only of one month which is probably very negligible or meaningless ot it may equally possible that complains may increases as time progresses. Without convincing evidence to author's conclusion, the reader is left with the impression that claim made by author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantative evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive. Additionally, by considering the discussion above it can be seen that reason mentioned by the author are not enough to support his suggestion. The argument loses weight because it has no explanation for the discussion given above.