The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that by advertising in the magazine exotic pets monthly there may be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again. this argument does not make a cogent case for advertising in magazine exotic pets monthly. it is easy to understand why top dog wants to advertise in magazine exotic pets monthly. But, this argument is rife with holes and assumption, and thus, does not strong enough to make author's assumption cogent. I think there may be some hidden factors that may prove the author's assumption invalid. Hence the argument is incomplete.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Five years ago, fish emporium started advertising in magazine exotic pets monthly and by advertising their stores saw sales increased by 15 percent. this is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For e.g., it may be possible that advertising in exotic pets monthly is only one of the factor that led to increase in sales. there may be some other factors including advertising such as stores may have eclectic collection of fish that have captured customer’s interest towards it or they may have cheaper price compared to other stores. furthermore, the director just mentions a 15 percent rise and no other figure. it is probable that 15 percent is not a noticeable change if the sales of the past period are low. if any of these assumptions turn true the conclusion of the author renders void.

Second, the argument states here that the three fish emporium stores in gulf city saw an even greater increase in sales than top dog stores. because top dog has some stores in gulf city. this again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between advertising in exotic pets monthly and increase in sales. Moreover, author did not provide any statistical information from how much percent sales increased compared to fish emporium. it may possible that sales in three fish emporium in only slightly higher compared to fish emporium. it may equally possible that gulf city citizens are more inclined into fish compared to other animals as pet. furthermore, just because the pet store is based in gulf city does not mean that people like dogs or maybe they do not have proper facilities, time, space and financial resources to adopt dog. if the argument provided more evidence on percent change and on liking of gulf city people towards fish then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author claims that it seems clear that if top dog starts placing its own ads in exotic pets monthly there will be sure to reverse trend of declining sales and start making profit again. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provide little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects such as what works for fish emporium will definitely work for top dog or it may equally possible that price in top dog store is much higher than fish emporium. Therefore, people prefer to go to fish emporium rather than going to top dog. All of these assumptions could be likely and must be taken into consideration by the director.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. The writer require to provide sufficient data and reliable statistics about the sales and operations of the fish emporium store and overall appraisal of the performance of dog store and careful investigation of the market trend in order to make his conclusion rational.