"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. "

While it may be true that to increase enrollment and to solve the problem of budget deficits at humana university, it is necessary to initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at omni. The argument does not make a cogent case. it is easy to understand why it is necessary to initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at omni. but, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to support author's recommendation. I think there may be some hidden factors that may claim author's argument to be invalid. therefore, the argument is incomplete.

First of all, the author readily assumes that last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby omni university increased by 50 percent. this is merely an assumption without solid ground. As, author only mentions 50 percent rise and no other figure .it is probable that 50 percent is not a noticeable change if increased in past years is slow. Furthermore, author needs to provide more statistical evidence about last year number of students who enrolled in online degree program. therefore, the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly provide more information about last year, that how the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby omni university increased by 50 percent?

Further, the argument here states that during the same year, omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditure for dormitory and classroom space. Additionally, the author's underlying assumption is that it is because online instruction takes place via the internet. this is again a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between author's conclusion and significant decrease from prior years in expenditure for dormitory and classroom space. it, may possible that there may be another factors due to which omni showed a significant decrease in expenditure for dormitory and classroom space such as there may decrease in enrollment of students in university due to the lack of education or it may equally possible that students decided to stay off campus due to dormitory increase rates.if the argument had provided evidence that omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditure for dormitory and classroom space because online instruction takes place via the internet. Then, it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.