The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that Humana University ought to initiate and assuade students to enroll in their online degree programs, the author doesn't make a cogent case for this argument. For this argument to be properly evaluated, three unwarranted assumption must be resolved.

Firstly, the author assumes that Omni University, where enrollment for online degree programs has seen an increase, has a decreasing number of students enrolled in their offline courses. Therefore, the author assumes that the expenditures for maintaining dormitory and classroom space have abated due to the shortened number of students taking courses in the university location. The author doesn't make a clear and solid connection between the rise in enrollment of online degree programs and the falling cost of university's spending. Therefore, the argument is severely weakened.

Additionally, the author doesn't make a clear cut connection showing that the enrollment of students in online courses is going to be a positive solution to the dilemma of budget deficits. The author is assuming that just because the university is going to save money on the maintenance of classroom space and building, the university is going to save money overall. For example, if Omni university wants to promulgate and advertise their online classes, they may have to end to end spending lot more than they would have saved due to the ostentatious costs associated with advertising and maintenance of the IT infrastructure needed to operate their online programs. Therefore, the argument doesn't hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that actively promoting the university will help to lure in more students in their online courses for Omni University. The author doesn't establish a clear cut and solid evidence to show that marketing and promoting actually helps to bring in more students in online programs. Therefore, the author should cite published papers to strengthen his argument.

In conclusion, the arguments are significantly flawed. The author should clearly cite how pivoting to online courses helps to save money , and also actively promoting will increase the number of students in their online courses.