“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

In a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine, the author concludes that we ought to invest our resources in unmanned space flight. The primary arguments, given to bolster this clam, are the expense and treachery associated with manned space flight and the deftness of the unmanned space probes to glean important information. For this position to be properly evaluated, these two unwarranted assumptions must be resolved.

Firstly, the author assumes that manned space flight is expensive and risky, and thus, making unmanned space flight a more propitious alternative. However, the author has not made any concrete connection to prove that manned space flight is more costly and risky than unmanned space flight. For example, it may be possible that manned space flight is actually cheaper than unmanned space flight due to increased chances of machinery failure and the absence of anyone present to redress the issue. Perhaps, sending unmanned space flight to observe and collect information from the rocky and uneven terrains of Mars may not be the brightest idea, because of the frequent defects in the robots. To strenthen his/her argument, the author should have explicated, with the aid of statistics or some survey, why choosing unmanned space flight is the way to move forward. Therefore, the argumet is severely flawed.

Additionally, the author insinuates that the unmanned spave probes have been efficaious, because of the plethora of information obtained. However, the author fails to provide a clear link to display that information gleaning is the primary motivation of space travel, and therefore, requiring more investment in unmanned probes. It may be possible that space colonization is the primary motivation of space travel for humans, and thus, leading to more manned space flights. For example, if NASA and other interested private companies, like SPACE X, intend to pursue colonization of Mars in the next few decades, it will require a great deal of manned flight to take steps for the necessary terraformation of the planet. Therefore, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument is severely flawed and the author does not provide sufficient and pertinent information and statistics to back up his argument. The author should carry out a systemized survey to display that manned space travel is more precarious than unmanned oness. Therefore, the author's argument does not hold water.