The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument prompt states that high school teachers should assign homework no more than twice a week. The main premise, that has been provided to bolster the claim, is that Marlee students earn better grades and are less likely to repeat a year than students of Sanlee, despite receiving less homework than students of Sanlee. Another evidence used to support this claim is that Sanlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments. However before this claim can be properly evaluated, three unwarranted assumptions must be cleared.

First of all, the author assumes that both high schools have comparable quality of teaching. Perhaps the quality of teachers in Sanlee high school may be considerably better than Marlee high school, leading to better overall results acheived by the students at Sanlee. Another instance might be that quality of teaching at Marlee might be significantly below the average. The reasons why Sanlee students are less likely to repeat a year of school might be because they are given a more customized type of teaching suited to each student's specific needs. If the above is true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that both schools assign the same type of homeworks. It is possible that Sanlee students are given a more innovative homework whereas Marlee students are given more generic homework, thereby encouraging a more qualitative learning compared to Marlee students. If the above argument is true, the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that Sanlee students are focusing more on individual assignments. It may be possible that Marlee students, on average, have more individual assignments than Sanlee students, even if Sanlee students have more free time on their hands. Perhaps Marlee students are concentrating on more challenging assignments. Therefore the argument is considerably flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed. If the author is able to respond these three issues and provide more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research, then it will be possible to properly evaluate the claim made in the argument essay.