Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The characters of heroes and role can be illuminating about the characteristics and proclivities of that society. We have observed the hero worship and phenomenon of role models since the birth of human civilization. The prompt recommends that the most effective way to comprehend the nature and fibre of a society is to study its heroes and role models. I strongly disagree with the claim being made, which will be further illustrated in the two paragraphs below.

To begin, in a lot of cases and examples, the characteristics can often reveal the basest of that society's nature. For instance, in Germany in the 1930s, when Adolf Hitler just came to power, he was extolled by a significant portion of the German population. They continued supporting him even though he was committing one of the greatest genocides in the history. The genocidal mania, as demonstrated by Hitler, actually displayed an ugly, hateful and noxious side of the German population's psyche. Thus, in this case, instead of showing the highest ideals, the heroes of the Germany after first world war displayed the lowest ideals of humanity. Another example is the glorification of Genghis Khan by Mongolian people, even though he was responsible for the decimation of millions of people. Mongolian people ,who are very peaceful and wary of conflict and violence, are antithetical to the ideals and qualities demonstrated by the study of Genghis.

Further, society is dynamic, and, thus, the heroes representing that society are often not instructed of the present state of that society. An example includes the glorification of Greek philosopher like Socrates by the Greek population in the 21st century. Greek society has very little in common with ancient Greece. In this case, we see a society showing its gratitude and appreciation for a figure, who have very little in common with them, for the contributions in philosophy made in ancient Greece. Now Greece has moved past the ages of plutocracy and slave ownership. Another example includes the idolization of Thomas Jefferson, who used to be a slave owner, by Americans even though, ideologically Americans do not support slavery. Therefore, it further displays that heroes are not representative of the values ​​and ideals of a society.

In conclusion, due to the dynamic nature of societies and often the antithetical base nature of heroes, heroes are not representative of the highest ideals of a society.