The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

In these memo, the president of Humana university recommends to initiate and actively promote online degree programs programs like those at Omni university in order to solve the problem of budget deficits. To bolster the recommendations, the president cites that last year the number of students enrollment at Omni university in online degree programs has increased by 50 percent due to the prior decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space. Similarly he added that mainly study takes place through online instruction through via the Internet. But enrollment at Humana university has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining building has increased. Close scrutiny of each of these facts however none of them lend no credible evidence to support the recommendation.

First, the argument readily assumes that decreasing expenditures for dormitory and classroom space had significantly increased the number of students enrollment in online degrees. However, only considering this as main reason for student enrollment doesn't provide viable reason. Thus, there may be some other reason for the increment of student enrollment. Therefore, the argument fails to mention the chief reason for the increment of students enrollment at Omni university.

Secondly, the argument fails to mention the accurate methodologies applied by Omni university for students enrollment. Hence, considering online instruction providing to the students via the Internet doesn't mainly allure huge number of students to that university. There may be some hidden methods and procedure that may be applied by university to attract large number of students such as low price on enrollment, competitive teaching methodologies, proper job placement and so on. Thus, the argument provide less credible evidence to support the argument.

Finally, the argument fails to mention one of the key factors on the basis of which it could have been evaluated, only maintaining buildings and enrolling high number of students doesn't provide sufficient criteria for any university to improve its image. Thus, to maintain good prestige at the market level, proper qualitative education and practices are needed. Thereby, to attract huge number of students, accurate management and prosperous teaching methods should be there. Hence, the argument remains unsubstantiated and become open to debate.

To sum up, the argument relies on dubious assumptions that renders unconvincing as it stands. To bolster the recommendation, the president of Humana university should provide clear evidence perhaps by a local study or survey: methods and procedures applied by Omni university should be studied properly, new technical procedures for upgrading the quality of education should be underscored and appropriate management and proper teaching faculties should be upgraded.