The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

In these meme, the business manager of a television station recommends to attract more viewer and advertiser to the program by improving various flaws seen in their television station. To bolster the recommendation, the manager cites the following facts: 1. During past years, more devotion of time to national news cause the excessive lose of viewers and thereby, urged to increase time to weather and local news as well so as to create more attraction. 2. Various attractive schemes should be managed so as to escalate the local business advertising contracts. Close scrutiny of each of these facts however reveals that none of them lend no credible evidence to bolster the recommendation.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that the lose of viewers during past years is due to its more devotion to national news. If this is the case, then why its viewers on national scale isn't burgeoning at that time. Moreover, the station department didn't study about the choice of viewers towards the particular programs during the same tenure. Thus, the argument fails to mention the particular reasons regarding the decrease of its viewers.

Secondly, the argument could have been much clearer if the business manager mention the different technical aspects used in their station to bolster the station coverage. Blaming all their shortness on late news programs doesn't sound appropriate. Similarly, increasing time to weather and local news doesn't create vast improvements on its viewer number. So, different new programs which can allure viewers to the station's coverage should be designed. Hence, the argument lends no credible evidence to advocate the recommendation that is the case.

Finally, the argument fails to mention one of the key factors on the basis of which it could have been evaluated, only devoting time to local and weather news doesn't engender advertiser to increase advertising on their programs. Therefore, attractive scheme should be provided and managed to the advertisers so as to increase revenue. Likewise, various new facilities should be installed so that new contracts can be easily build off. Hence, the argument remains unsubstantiated and becomes open to debate.

To sum up, the argument relies on dubious assumption that renders unconvincing as it stands. To buttress the recommendation, the business manager must provide clear evidence perhaps by a local study or survey; different technical issues should be sorted out so as to increase its service on broader area, different shows should be launched to allure more viewers and various attractive schemes must be designed so that more advertisers get attracted to their television shows.