The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore. in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion from inocomplete data that the lost viewers can be regained by restoring the previous format to the news broadcast.

The writer points out to the fact that over the past year they have dedicated more time towards national news and less time towards weather and local news. The writer here fails to specify by how much did they increase the time towards national news. The lack of ability of providing numbers about the increase and decrease of broadcast ratio adds a questioning of the same and weakens the writers argument.

The writer further goes on to talk about the complaints received from the veiwers. Here again there is a lack of numbers or data pointing to the numbers of complaints and out of those complaints how many were regarding the increased time for national news. The absence of data should be taken into consideration and be questioned about. Hence the complaint records are a important aspect of the argument.There seems no connection between the loss of advertiment contracts and change of broadcast pattern. This could have many reasons behind it like better facilities provided by other channels at better cost. The company should do a survey around this and take actions accordingly.

The writer then talks about lost of veiwership. This loss could be due to other reasons like change of schedule of the veiwers, change of intrest as in from news to entertainment and so on. A survey shall be conducted to take into account all the parameters mentioned above like compalints, shows they would like to watch any other issue regarding the broadcast they encounter. And then the actions should be taken.

In genral, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of complete absence of statistical data and no convincing reason are provided. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations that are likely to be incorrect.