Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reasons on which that claim is based.

CLAIM: The value of integrating different disciplines in a curriculum is overestimated in the present times.

REASON: Educational training ought to be centered around creating groundwork for a particular vocation and therefore students should be persuaded to focus only on one area of study.

The claim is addressing a current trend in our education system that focuses and aims to inculcate interdisiplinary curriculum. Interdisiplinary curriculum is basically a curricullum that allows a student of science to take up a course in finance. The claim and reason states that it is not a good idea to introduce such a curriculum and students should 'focus on only one area of study'. I firmly disagree to the conclusion drawn by these statement.

Interdisciplinary curriculum is much of an advantage to students than harm. The students get to explore the subjects which are not core to there disciples. This helps them to understand and get a holistic approach of the same. If a student of science is majoring in chemistry and in future wants to open his or her own lab then a course in finance or business can give him a broad idea of what he or she is going to face in future.

Many established professor believe that the feild of engineering is a lot inter depentent. Let's say a company wants to build a robot, a computer engineer will help them with the software but can not manage its hardware. A electronics major can handle the intergation of software and hareware and a intrumentation major can handle the hardware part. But it is to the companies advantage that its employee has an idea of the other components involved in the making and introducing of the product. The problem in faced by the industries in todays times can not be handled by only one entity. The problems such as pollution and Global warming has to be distributed to each and every industry. Hence a Civil engineer while constructing a striucture should keep in mind the green attributes of it and these ideas can be inclucated to these builder only through courses.

Due to increasing competition in the market companies are looking for a holistic employee who despite of being excellent it there own displine can handle management roles with easy.

Ingenral these courses are to help students int there future encounters within the feild. And it is said that a knownlegde once aquired is never wasted, it comes in use some or the oth way. Hence the reason does not fully support the claim.