The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter, the owner of Sunnyside Towers apartment complex suggests that restricting the water flow for all buildings in the complex will increase profits by reducing their water consumption. Although, this argument holds water, it is based on several unwarranted assumptions, that if not confounded, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions need to be addressed.

Firstly, did the readings for water usage actually change? It can also be possible that the water readings did not change significantly after reducing the water pressure. Perhaps, because of the decreased water pressure, people spend more time in the shower, thus compensating for the water that would’ve been saved. If that is the scenario, decreasing water pressure will have no effect on the reading of water usage, and the argument will lose its ground.

Secondly, Is the owner sure that none of the people staying at the complex, will leave the complex because of the dissatisfaction due to low pressures of water? It is possible that the people staying at the apartment complex are extremely dissatisfied with the low pressure of water, and decide to leave the apartment. If people leave the apartment, the owner will probably lose more money than what he saves from reducing the water flow. If that is the case, the argument loses its validity.

Thirdly, do the people staying at Sunnyside Tower complex use showers to bathe everyday? It is possible that majority of people at Sunnyside Tower Complex don’t use the shower at all and use buckets instead. Since a bucket can hold a fixed volume of water, changing pressure will have no effect on the water consumption. The bucket will also take longer to fill, and one would have to before he can take a bath, which might cause dissatisfaction. If this is the case, the argument made byd the owner is substantially weakened.

Although, the argument made by the owner of Sunnyside towers is reasonable, more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If the owner is able to answer the three questions, it will be possible to full evaluate the validity of the argument.