The following appeared in a recommendation from the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October, the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined almost immediately. The city of Amburg, on the other hand, recently instituted police patrols on bicycles in its business district. However, the rate of vandalism here remains constant. Since high-intensity lighting is clearly the most effective way to combat crime, we recommend using the money that is currently being spent on bicycle patrols to install such lighting throughout Amburg. If we install this high-intensity lighting, we will significantly reduce crime rates in Amburg."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the author concludes that the crime behavior can be strikingly reduced by installing intense lighting system. To justify his/her conclusion, the author uses the fact that the decrease of vandalism in Belleville as an evidence. He/she also cite police patrols fail to have any effects on crime rate. Nevertheless, some questions should be addressed before the author prove the validity of argument.

Based on the credence concerning the diminishment of vandalism in Belleville, the author assumes that the high-intensity lighting system is direct reason for such result. However, there is a question needed to be answered to substantiated the argument. Is the lighting system really a causation? Basically, the reason might result from another factor. If the regulator in Belleville elevated the intensity of police patrols who devoted much effort and vigor into infrastructure protection, there would be less vandalism. Therefore, the lighting is not a necessary reason for the reduction on vandalism. I argue that the government in Amburg had better figure out the actual factor causing less crime before make a decision.

Apart from that, the author presents an unsubstantiated conclusion that police patrols in Amburg have nothing to do with vandalism, because of invariability on the number of malfeasances. Nevertheless, the author had better ascertain whether a series of actions taken in Amburg are not useful. For one thing, establishment of police patrols may not decline vandalism instantly and there might be a process between the actions and reductive trend. Thus, it’s possible that vandalism in Amburg will be gradually diminished in next a few mouths. On the other hand, although police patrols have been built in some districts where vandalism did decrease, those negative behaviors might increase in other areas without police patrols, which leads to the invariability on the total number of vandalisms. So, the administrators in Amburg have to examine the question stated above.

More importantly, in order to decrease vandalism, Amburg was planning to institute lighting system as Belleville did. But, even if the lighting system did take effects to the shrink of vandalism in Belleville, the government in Amburg can’t imitate same action completely. Regulators must be clear of a question that whether such measure is effective in their city. If Belleville is so big that instituting lighting system can be a huge task that is a waste of resources, such as electricity and labor, taking the same action will not be a wise choice under this circumstance. While government only institute lighting in specific areas to curtail the cost of project, what about the other districts? Therefore, in this case, Belleville’s success is not comparative with Amburg, or even causing other tough problems.

In a nutshell, despite the proposals put forward by the president of Amburg, as well as the reasons the author give, relevant answers for the question in my passage should be presented so as to validate the argument.