The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glimpse, the argument seems to be plausible. However a closer scrutiny of the evidences reveals that, a lot of significant queries yet to be responded to consider the argument valid and irrefutable. In the assertion the author concludes that, modifying shower heads to restrict water flow in all the buildings of Sunnyside towers complex will increase their profit. To substantiate the conclusion, the author cites several evidences which seems flawed and unreasonable. Hence the conclusion can be considered as untenable, due to lack of persuasive evidences and unstated assumptions.

Firstly, the author asserts that, all the shower head in the first three buildings were modified to restrict the maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. But the author hasn’t given any data regarding the actual water usage before and after the adjustment were made. It can be possible that, since the water flow has been restricted, so people are using water for long duration. And thus it seems implausible to believe that, the actual water usage has been reduced. Since, the water flow has been reduced, but people are using more water for long times to fulfill their usage. So considering this issue, the author’s assertion is simply untenable.

Secondly, the author mentioned that, very few complaints have been reported to them due to the low pressure of water. But no problem with showers have been reported. But the author haven’t given the exact number of the complaints. It can be possible that, the exact number of the complaints is a large number, which he has mentioned as few. Because numbers vary from one to one’s perspective. Moreover, it can be possible that, people are very much angry in the inside but unwilling to report complain about this. Because there exist many people who avoid unnecessary complaints and contention. Again it also can be possible that, they are getting ready to change their residence due to this issue but haven’t reported any complaints to the apartment manager. So considering these assumptions, the authors view is simply untenable.

Last but not least, the author asserted that, since their policy have been succeeded in the three apartments, so it will be profitable if they also implement this policy in the all twelve apartments. But I strongly disagree with this assertion. Because, we cannot rely on the three apartment and apply the same thing to the others apartment. Since, every apartments are different from each other and every people in the apartment are also different from each other. So collecting data from the three department and giving conclusion about the twelve apartment is simply untenable. Moreover, the author haven’t provide any significant data about their profit. It can be possible that, the policy will be profitable for short run, but in the long run it will not be profitable. So without investigating all these factors, the argument is simply untenable.

Therefore, the argument should not be considered as valid and reliable until the relevant issues are evaluated. To further fortifying this argument, the author is suggested to provide the evidences as follows: the author should provide the data of the actual readings of the water usage before and after the adjustment. The author also inspect properly, whether the residents were truly satisfied with the water flow, or they were simply unwilling to complain. Also the author should calculate about their profit properly. By stating these evidences, the argument can be considered as tenable and irrefutable.