The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

At first glimpse, the argument seems to be plausible. However, a closer scrutiny of the evidences reveals that, a lot of significant queries yet to be responded to consider the argument valid and irrefutable. In this assertion, the author concludes that, to boost sales and profit, the Bower Builders Company should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. To substantiate the conclusion, the author cites several evidences as follows: he cited the example of a competitor Domus Construction and surveys. However, before the argument can be properly examined, three assumptions must be evaluated.

Firstly, the method of sample taken in the survey and the precision of the survey should be provided. Is the survey significantly represent the whole population? How the sample had been collected? The author hasn’t provided any evidence about these questions. It can be possible that, the survey was totally flawed. Perhaps, the survey was made on those sample, who doesn’t significantly represent the whole population. If most of the person who took part on the survey, was biased toward the large family room, then the whole survey will be flawed. If the above scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, additional information about the competitor company Domus Construction should be provided. What are the other factors which made Domus Construction Company to sell faster and significantly higher prices than the national average? The author hasn’t provided any other possible factors about the company. It may be possible that, the marketing side of Domus Construction is very much effective and intelligent. That’s why Domus construction is selling their homes faster and significantly higher prices than the other company. Perhaps, they have many other features which attracts the buyers. For example, their homes may be well arranged, well colored, they provide various convenience to their customers and so on. So, without considering other factors about the Domus Construction, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Last but not least, the additional information about the recent buyers who gave opinion about the dining room should also be provided. How the opinion from the recent buyers been collected? Does there exist any biasness? Who collected the information from them? The author hasn’t provided any information regarding these questions. It may be possible that, the buyers who gave opinion about the dining, they represent a very little portion of the whole population. If only based on a few opinion recorded from the recent buyers the company make a conclusion about their features, then in the long run the company will not get profit. If the above assumption is true, the argument is totally flawed.

In a nutshell, by using the above mentioned substantiation, we can clearly say that, the argument is totally untenable due to lack of persuasive evidences and unstated assumptions. To further fortifying the argument, the author is suggested to provide the evidences as follows: The author should provide information about the sample and survey, he also should take other factors which have influence on the vast selling of their competitor company. By stating these evidences and answering the questions, the argument can be considered as tenable and irrefutable.