The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Bower Builders advocates to increase the size of the family rooms and kitchen, at the expense of dining rooms, in their homes in order to increase the sales and profits of the construction company based on the fast-selling, high price homes sold by Domer Construction and recent buyers saying they do not need a separate dining room. Although this suggestion may be plausible, the conclusion rests on several unfounded assumption that, if not substantiated, severely hamper the argument.

First, the president assumes that the nationwide survey was conducted scientifically to produce accurate results. However, this may not be the case. If the survey was a phone survey, then the sample population could have been skewed toward older individuals or families, since the younger population is less likely to have a home phone. If this is the case, the nationwide survey excludes a large demographic of home buyers: young, single with roommates, or newly married. Additionally, the survey may have been only been made available to people in certain areas. For example, if this survey was only conducted in suburban areas, it is not representative of individuals who live in cities or the countryside. If the population sample of the national survey does not match Bower Builders' primary demographic, then the survey's results would not be helpful. Thus, if either of these cases is true, is significantly undermines the president's argument.

Secondly, the president bases his conclusion on the assumption that Bower Builders and Domer Construction target the same demographic. If for example, Domer Construction homes sell primarily to those with high income, while Bower Builders sell to those with low income, then it is unlikely that they desire the same attributes. People with money may be willing to splurge on a larger area with better accommodations, those who are more frugal are less likely to treat themselves with these luxuries. Additionally, Domer Construction may be targeting families, while Bower Builders targets college students. Again, families may be in the market to buy larger, more spacious homes, instead of the smaller, cheaper homes that college students desire. If these assumptions about each company's target demographic hold true, then the president's conclusion is severely weakened.

Thirdly, the argument assumes that the large family room and kitchen are the only features resulting in Domer Construction's high prices and fast selling homes. However, this may not be entirely true. Domer Construction houses may include a pool, which appeals to many people and increases the prices of a house. Additionally, Domer Construction may build neighborhoods that facilitate a sense of community amongst its residents. They may build their neighborhoods near convenience centers, or even include one inside their neighborhoods. As such, the prices of the homes would increase and they would sell more quickly, due to the convivence associated with living in a neighborhood built by Domer Construction. If either of the situations proves true, then the president's argument that enlarging the kitchen and family room will lead to increased sales does not hold water.

In conclusion, this argument is not presented cogently enough to ascertain that increasing the size of the family rooms and kitchen will increase the sales of Bower Builders' homes. With more evidence about how the national survey was conducted, the primary consumers of each company, and additional features of Domer Construction houses, we can begin to properly evaluate the argument, in order to support or abandon the conclusion.