some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. in developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The dilemma many corporations face is increasingly complex; wanting to make a profit on one hand, while benefitting the public on the other. Often times, large pharmaceutical companies opt for the prior, even though medication is meant to better the lives of their recipients. For example, pharmaceutical companies, like Cephalon, contributed to the opioid addiction, thereby harming the public. Additionally, the cost of insulin has skyrocketed to the point that many diabetics are forced to take drastic measures to pay for their insulin. Although both cases are not illegal, they are not promoting the well being of the society. For these reasons, I believe that corporations have the responsibility to promote the well-being of others over making a profit.

Fentanyl, a strong and harmful opioid, was initially meant to be prescribed to cancer patients only. However, the FDA did not properly set the guidelines and allowed pharmaceutical companies to set their own restrictions. As a result, many pharmaceutical companies, like Cephalon, began to aggressively push Fentanyl to people who did not actually need it. Although, within the law, this is a very obvious conflict of interest. It became common for Fentanyl to be prescribed for minor incidents, like body pain or groin pain, which led to many Fentanyl related deaths. In this case, Cephalon put their own greed above the safety and well-being of the public, and it resulted in catastrophic consequences.

Additionally, pharmaceutical companies have been harming the diabetic community for years by increasing the cost of insulin, a necessity, to soaring prices. We have heard many stories about people taking drastic measures in order to obtain insulin, including leaving the country to get cheaper prices, postponing important life events, working multiple jobs, and even as far as limiting the amount of insulin they take in order to make it last longer. Obviously, pharmaceutical companies selling insulin are only concerned about their own wealth, and this is harming the public. Although it is not necessarily illegal to hike up prices this high, it is extremely unethical and disrespectful to the community they claim to help.

Although it is fair to say that corporations should put the well-being of society over their greed for profit, it is important to note that these corporations should not forgo the law in order to do to so. If they were to operate illegally, it is likely that they will quickly be shut down, limiting the amount of people they can help. Thus, corporations should always aim to operate within the law to be a positive force in society, instead of pursuing their own wealth. This idea seems incredibly idealistic, since many corporations embody the idea of greed. But in order to preserve and better society, it is important for these massive companies to use their power to better society, instead of selfishly catering to their own wealth.