Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your own position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is thought that corporations’ only responsibility is to make as much money as possible, while others believe that corporations should take responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. The latter option proves most beneficial to a company’s success and growth. Not caring about the society or environment in which the corporation operates can have detrimental effects on the prosperity of the corporation. Money should not be the driving factor of a corporation's success or failure.

If corporations do not care about the society around them, it can be disadvantageous to the supplier and the consumer. When companies do not care about their customers, the customers are less likely to return, which results in a loss of profit. When the customers do not return, they lose the convenience or service offered by the company. It is a lose-lose situation. If corporations care about making money at all, they will consider caring for the society and customers around them.

Caring for the environment surrounding a corporation is also very important. For example, big corporations and factories emit prodigious amounts of pollution each day, which accumulate over time. This pollution has harmful effects on the environment, which costs the government, and sometimes the individual corporations, money to clean it up. A clean environment is vital to not only the corporation's success, but installing eco-friendly strategies has planet-wide benefits.

It can be disputed that making as much money as possible, in a corporation setting, is a key component in the success of the company. In a sense, this is not false, but focusing strictly on profit, and nothing more can result in a failing corporation. Money does not equal success, and money sure does not equal happiness.

In conclusion, the responsibilities of big corporations and companies are not only making money, but also caring for the societies and environments around them. Having a stable environment and society are the fundamental aspects to a corporation’s success. If there are no customers, communities, or environmental strategies to keep the surrounding area free from pollution, then corporations may be doomed to failure.