"Because people increasingly eat at restaurants, all restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the meals they serve. This knowledge makes it easier for diners to make healthy choices and reduces the risk of diet-related health problems."

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Many people nowadays go out to a restaurant to eat a meal several times per week. Many restaurants have considered displaying nutritional information about the meals they serve in order to make it easier to choose healthy choices and reduce the risk of diet-related health problems. Although it can prove helpful, it is not necessary to display such information about the meals at restaurants.

If people see the calorie count or ingredients in a particular food item before eating it, will this really stop them from ordering it? A person may think twice about what they are putting into their mouth, but at the end of the day, if the individual wants a cheeseburger, they will order the cheeseburger. The calorie content and the harmful ingredients inside may not be so important to each individual that walks into a restaurant. There is a common trend among restaurants in today’s society that will put your picture on a wall if you can finish their signature, and usually the biggest, food item on the menu. This further encourages people to eat too many calories and make unhealthy choices. The people that come into a restaurant like that, don’t necessarily care about the calorie content, they just want their face on the wall and bragging rights.

To figure out the fat and calorie content of each item of the menu at a restaurant will cost a lot of time and money. It would be more beneficial to use the money elsewhere in the restaurant, on a more pressing problem the business may be having. On the other hand, disclosing nutritional information to customers will not necessarily reduce the risk of diet-related health problems. Whether a food is nutritious or not, is not always a main concern for someone with diet related health problems, such as diabetes or obesity.

The only benefit to providing nutritional information to customers, would be to reduce the risk to exposure to allergens. Several individuals are allergic to common ingredients to many foods, such as nuts, soy, eggs, etc. Providing such information on what ingredients are included in a food item may prove beneficial in this way. To say that providing this information would benefit those with diet-related health problems, such as obesity, would be inconclusive.

In conclusion, the benefits of providing nutritional information on every item on the menu at a restaurant do not prove its worth. Individuals do not go to an ice cream shop to only stop themselves from eating it when they notice the calorie content. Those with obesity and diabetes often times eat very unhealthy to begin with, and may not care about the harmful ingredients. Overall, with the cost of providing such information, and with the majority of people who would not use this information to their advantage, it would be unwise to institute this change in restaurants.