"Scientific theories, which most people consider as 'fact,' almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as 'factual' with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future."

Write and essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Some people think of scientific theories as fact, something that can not be proven inaccurate, but this is not always the case. One should be skeptical about what they perceive as factual because it is likely that those facts can prove false in the future.

Several scientific theories throughout history have proven false after further consideration and study. For example, it was once a theory that the world was flat, and that if you walked far enough, you might fall off the planet Earth. As technology improved and space travel became readily available, scientists and astronauts proved that the world was not flat at all. Another theory proven false in recent times was that Pluto was considered a planet. At one time, it was taught that there were nine planets in our solar system, and Pluto was considered the last and final planet. Again, as technology improved and the world modernized, Pluto was proven not to be a planet after all.

Science is always evolving and improving, and this is why many theories are later considered to be false. In modern medicine, theories are tested until proven correct, but later developments may prove something else. Long ago, there was no cure for what was then considered a terminal disease. A disease such as smallpox could have likely killed a person, while today there is a vaccine for it. This might not have seemed possible in older times, but with advancements in medicine in today’s world, anything is possible. Medical trials are performed to further advance the field of science and medicine to prove that there are cures for certain disorders and diseases.

Not to say that all scientific theories later prove false, but it is important to be skeptical when dealing with such theories. Today, nothing is certain and nothing is factual until proven so. Although something may be proven correct today, does not mean it will be correct tomorrow. Our world is ever-evolving and new theories come into existence every day.

In conclusion, scientific theories cannot always be considered factual. As technology and the world around us advances, these same theories can later be proved inaccurate. Keeping an open mind about theories and science in general can benefit not only the believers of these theories, but the creators of theories as well.