The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The budget planner for the city of Grandview states that they can now eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony because it is now self-sustaining. The author of this memo asserts that the Symphony is self-sustaining because a new conductor, who attracts high-profile guest musicians to perform, was brought in. The budget planner states that private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the summer concert series has reached record highs. However, her conclusion relies on assumptions for which have no clear evidence and fails to recognize the effects of removing funding for the Grandview Symphony.

First, the budget planner relies on the assumption that if funding is cut, the conductor will remain at the Grandview Symphony and attendance will continue to increase. If funding is removed, who will pay the conductor? Who will pay for the upkeep of the Grandview Symphony? These questions raise awareness to the problem. If money is no longer available, there is no promise that the conductor, and guest musicians will continue their jobs. If the conductor and guest musicians are gone, then attendance may start to decrease.

Next, the budget planner assumes that people donate because of the new conductor that was brought in. There could be various reasons for the donations of private contributors, but the budget planner fails to mention these. Is it possible, that ten years ago, there may have been a recession in the economy, thus contributors were less likely to donate their money? Maybe the economy took a turn for the better, and private investors were able to spend money on something such as the Symphony. This memo also assumes that contributions and attendance will continue to increase as the years progress. Although it may be likely, no proof or evidence is available to show future projections in profit or attendance.

This argument could be dramatically strengthened if the budget planner does some research and extrapolates data, further proving the increased contributions and attendance will continue. The city of Grandview could take a survey, asking each resident what they like about the symphony, and how likely they are to come back. The summer concert series may only be popular because it is in the summer, and people have more free time. If this is the case, the author needs to back up his/her argument with facts to prove its worth. The budget planner must also conversate with the conductor and make note of the conductor’s future plans. Maybe the conductor is planning on moving, or retiring. Either way, the budget planner needs conclusive evidence to establish the permanence of the conductor.

The budget planner may not be wrong to assert that cutting funding for the Grandview Symphony will not have any effect on attendance and contributions, but to support his/her current conclusion, the budget planner must first submit more concise evidence. Research, surveys and simple conversations can back up the author’s argument and allow the city of Grandview to be persuaded into agreement.