The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore concludes that in order to reverse the recent decline in profits, they must reduce operating costs at their ten stores. The owner asserts that at their downtown location, operating expenses have been reduced by closing earlier and eliminating movies older than five years. This conclusion relies on assumptions for which have no concise evidence. Movies Galore must analyze these assumptions in order to determine the best solution to their problem.

First, the owner assumes that because reducing operating expenses at their downtown location was successful, that it must be true at all locations. A downtown area of a city is usually heavily populated and fast moving. This could be one reason for the success of this store, but the owner fails to analyze this data. The nine other locations have no guarantee that they will be successful based off of this assumption. A Movies Galore store that is located in the midst of the country might not have similar results.

The Movies Galore owner states that they are known for offering great movies at low prices, so raising rental prices is not an option. Assuming that raising the rental prices will result in less profit is dubious. Maybe those nine other locations are all in wealthy neighborhoods, where residents will gladly pay a higher price for a great movie. Or maybe the owner is correct in his/her statement, and raising the prices will be hinder the business. Either way, the owner of Movies Galore does not support his/her claims with fact.

To improve this argument, the owner should research and present data on the population density near each Movies Galore location. This could help the owner decide if reducing operating expenses will, in fact, reverse the decline in profit. The argument could also be strengthened if the owner surveyed residents near each movie store location to see how much they would be willing to pay for a Movies Galore movie. A survey could also prove beneficial in selecting the movies that will be kept in stock. It is possible that locals want to see movies from five years ago, thus removing such movies from shelves could have detrimental effects on business received.

In conclusion, the owner of Movies Galore is interested in reversing the recent decline in profits, but relies on fallacious assumptions. The owner may not be wrong to assert such changes in operation will result in success for the company, but the lack of evidence and data hinders his/her argument.