The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movie Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for your special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore is recommending to implement changes in nine of its stores similar to the the changes implemented in its downtown Marston store: close at 6pm instead of 9pm and reduce its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Whilst this recommendation may seem sound at first glance, it does not contain enough supporting evidence to make it a convincing or cogent one.

First, the recommendation readily assumes that decreasing operating expenses will improve profits. However, it is not clear whether or not implementing the recommended changes increases profit. Did the Marston store improve profits after implementing these changes? If not, then the recommendation does not make any sense. Including these results is vital for the recommendation to have any good standing.

Let us assume that implementing these changes at the Marston store did indeed improve profits. How do we know for sure that these changes will produce the same results at the other nine stores? Where are the other stores located? The location of these other stores is very important for a number of reasons. First, what is the customer demographic like at these other stores? Are they similar to the one at the Marston store? These questions are important because while it may be true that eliminating any movies older than five years helped the Marston store, the customer demographic at other stores may be quite different and would in fact be more likely to rent older movies. It is necessary to investigate the customers' preferences themselves at each store and determine whether eliminating older movies would improve profits.

Second, what is the price of living at the locations of these other stores? The recommendation states that raising rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits because Movies Galore is famous for their special bargains. Even if this argument is true at the Marston store (which the recommendation never clearly states), would this be true at the other stores? Perhaps the price of living is higher in the other locations, and customers would not be too bothered with a slight increase in price because it would still be lower than many of the other expenses that they are paying. In this case, raising rental prices may be a good way to improve profit.

Third, how many customers come between 6pm and 9pm at the other stores? If those are the hours where the most customers come in, then closing the stores at 6pm may actually be harmful profits. It would make most sense to investigate how many customers are coming in every day and when and then decrease opening hours of the stores based on the hours that the least number of customers rent movies.

In order to properly assess the recommendation, it is essential to have more information on the profits at the Marston store and the location, customer demographics, and rental information in the other nine stores. Without this important information, the recommendation is incomplete, and it cannot be determined whether it is likely to improve profits at Movies Galore.