The following appeared in a memorandum of the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental proces is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month, our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its stock by eleminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

While it may be true that the decreasing amount of stock available will increase the overall profit of the Movie Galore, the argument fails to make a cogent case for it. It is easy to understand the store doesn't want to increase their price in order to maintain its reputation for offering the movies at low prices, the argument about getting rid of the old movies is rife with holes and assumptions. It is less likely to persuade the reader.

The author is citing the results of the new policy implemented in the downtown Marston store. The store significantly decreased the stock of the old movi...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.