In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The statement links the significant contribution made to a field with the influcence of the past achievement within that field on that contribution. There has been no point in history where the lived lives of humans have changed more dramatically. The scientific discoveries have made the world a smaller place. With the advent of internet, it has become easier to share the information around the globe. It has allowed scientist to share their work and collaborate on the large scale. Which has, in turn, facilitated the people working in the field of science to make significant contributions to the field.

To make significant contribution one certainly needs to influnced by the past achievements in the field. Consider the example of Andrew Wiles and Fermat's last theorem. Fermat stated his famous theorem without giving any proof 300 years ago. This theorem became known as the Fermat's last theorem. This problem had since then become the holy grail of mathematics. A million dollar prize was announced to anyone who presents the correct proof of the theorem. People had been trying their luck to the one of the toughest problem in the modern mathematics. It is only in the later half of the 20th century, a british mathematician, Andrew Wiles was able to come up with a proof. He had been working on this probelm for last seven years. He had to browse through all the mathematics that had been developed over the past 300 years. He had to analyse the attempts that people had made earlier and find out where exactly they had gone wrong to get a hint towards the correct proof. He was heavily influenced by the past progress that had been made within the field by others. It is very less likely they he would have come up with the proof out of the blue.

However, it is not always necessary that the significant contribution can come only after one is strongly influnced by the previous achievement. It may also be possible that experts of the field are missing something very obvious in order to solve the probelm. An outsider in the field will not have any prejudice towards using different approaches or methods. He may have a better luck at solving the problems. For example, the structure of DNA had puzzled the biologist for several years. People were proposing different models to explain the data obtained form the experiments. In the end, it was a physicist, who was able to construct the correct model that satisfied all the experimental tests. Since than his model is the most widely accpted as the correct DNA model also known as double helix model. This exampel gives us the most hope in the possiblility that it is always possible to make significant contribution without being influence by the past achievemnets.

The scientific discoveries have always been a part of human lives. Given the history of human race, there will be no limit to tthe number of problems available, both old and new. There is no need for one to refrain himself from learnig from other's mistakes, but rather this oppurtuinity should be embrace to solve the problem and move towads the better future. Except sometimes, when an outsider's approach can also lead to a satisfacotry result.