"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

While it may be true that number of bicycle accidents has increased 200 percent, the author augument dosen't make a cogent case for an education program that focuse on different aspects of saftey other than the halmet. It is easy to understand that the number of people wearing helmet has increased 80 percent, the author's atgument is rife with holes and assumption and it is very unlikey to persuade the reader.

Citing the results of the study, the author states that over the period of ten years, the accident rate has increased 200 percent. It is not clear, however, the scope of the validity of the survey. The author has assumed that the survey that was done ten years ago may not have covered all the accidents that took place, resluting into a lower accident rate. It is also possible that ten years ago people may not be active enough the report accidents. This may, in turn, increase the gap between the current accident rate and old accident rate. The survey must be representing the entire population, valid, and methodical to in order to back the author's argument.

Building up on the implication of wearing the helmet, the author states that it might make riders feel more safe and lure to take more risks. However, the numbers given in the argument represents the percentage increament and not the acutal increament. In ten years, a country's population can increase by a large number. The author has assumed that the number of bicycle ridres has also assumed by the same proprotion. The absense of the exact number makes the data less raliable.

Additoinally, the author has not mentioned what type accidents have been increased. It may be the case that the people riding other vehicles have become more careless and may have met with an accident with the bicycle riders. It has been assummed that all the bicyle accidents re caused by the bicycles rider's fault and not due to the other person's fault. The inforamtion about the type of accidents is missing from the argument.

A safe, pollution free medium to commute from one place to another such as the bicycle is always a desireable for the growth of country. The organization of an education camp will immensly benifit the citizens of the country. However, the author's author argument to focus on the medius other than the helmet is less likely to convince the reader. With the added points such as the validity of the survey and types of accidents will bolster the argumet.