The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage claims that the government should pay less attention to encouraging and mandating bicyclists to wear helmets and focus more on educating about bicycle safety. The 35-percent increase in the use of the helmets in the past decade, in contrast to the 200-percent growth in bicycle-related accidents is the main criterium for the conclusion. Although the text seems plausible at first glance, further considerations and pursuing other data reveals vivid flaws in the write-up.

Firstly, the text discusses the percentages and not real numbers. Also, the text lacks evidence about the bicyclists' growth rate in the past ten years. A 200-precent growth in accident may be or not be considerable compared to the actual number of the bicyclists. For instance, ten years ago there was only 100 bicyclists in the town among whom 20 experienced bicycle accident. Nowadays, there are 10.000 bicyclists with 100 accidents. it is crystal clear that the accidents have increased 5 times more reaching to 100 from 20 but the ratio of accidents significantly dropped from 20% to 1%. Therefore, the number of accidents is not an appropriate indicator to appraise the bicycle-accidents situation.

Moreover, the author fails to report the number of fatalities and the severity of the accidents. While we witness a growth in the number of accidents, it is plausible that the level and severity of them reduced considerably during this period. A collection of ten accidents with eight mortalities is remarkably disastrous in comparison to a collection of thirty accidents with two mortalities. The passage needs to glean more data and evidence about the number of fatalities to assess the efficiency of the helmet-wearing policy of the government.

At last, the conclusion of the writing is weakened when the author suggests that bicyclists feel safer and they take more risks as a consequent. He did not offer any evidence to corroborate his claim. If the police reports about the accidents and the reasons approve the risky behaviour of most of the bicyclists then his notion may be true. In this regard, we need to attain more data and information to confirm the author's suggestion. In addition, there might be many other factors that play a role in the accidents growth rate. Unsuitable infrastructure, lack of bicycle lanes, Streets and road congestion and even the risky behaviour of the car drivers may be the reasons for this event.