Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

It goes without saying that in this exhausting and stressful era in which we are living, having hobbies and amusements are of significant concerns. Some believe that reading books like novels and short stories are more enjoyable, while others argue that watching movies is the best. I agree with watching movies , and I make my side clearer in the next paragraphs.

First, in this superfast era in which time management is essential, watching movies can save more time than reading novels. In this regard, Since we have lots of things to do during a day, we occasionally have a lack of time to spend on entertainments and hobbies . Thus, shorter activities are preferable. Although reading a book is enjoyable, but it usually takes many hours even many days to get finished. On the contrary, watching a movie to the end often takes less than ninety minutes . For instance, it took me four months to read all the volumes of Harry Potter books while watching the movies took only five days. Moreover, I almost reviewed all the scenes written in the book and nothing significant was omitted in the film compared with the book.

Second, visual effects and human characters make the story more interesting. To clarify, there are so many words and descriptions in a book, and the author has just a pen in his hand as a tool to illustrate his intentions, while a director has various tools and technics to show his ideas and the feelings of the characters. Therefore, audience experience a more realistic atmosphere and can feel themselves as they accompany actors and actresses in all ups and downs of the screenplay. In this regard, a personal example can drive this claim home. I read the first volume of the Harry Potter two years ago, and I could not depict the face of Ron and never could imagine his characteristics, but when I watched the movie, I found him as a real person who had a distinct personality with a real face.

The last but not the least, watching a movie is a public hobby whereas reading a novel is an individual activity. To clarify, it is crystal clear that nowadays, families have less time to spend together; Thus, they need something to substitute for personal hobbies like mobiles and tablets. Although reading the books and magazines is a compelling amusement , but we should fight tooth and nail in order to make some public activity with our family and friends. Indeed, watching a TV makes it possible to share our moments with other members of our family and have fun together.