Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage indicates that Arctic deer populations are declining in accordance with the hunters' reports. The author uses the coincidence of global warming and the drop in the number of this animal to conclude that the decrease mentioned above is the result of their inability to find their former migration pattern to have foods. While the text has some argumentative statements which might seem reasonable at first glance, further considerations show some vital flaws in them.

first, the author assumes that the cycle of cold and mild weather is a default situation and based on this fact he states that melting the sea ice is a crucial phenomenon for the life of the deers. he fails to explain what is the normal behaviour of deer when the warm periods are extended. It is possible that by the extension of the warm periods, the need to migrate to another place disappeared, and the animal stays in the same island for the rest of the year.

Moreover, the writer fails to explain why the reports of the hunters are trustable? how many deers may be counted by the hunters? how many hunters are questioned, and what is the percentage of the drop in the number of deers? deers may find some new islands that are vacant from any hunters. Hence, the hunters presume that the number of deers is declined and died.

Besides, the coincidence of global warming with a purported decline in deer populations does not provide adequate evidence to conclude that they lose their usual migration pattern. The happening of the two events at the same time does not present sufficient logic to correlate them without any more investigations. There may so many other reasons play a role in this incident. For example, an increase in the rate of illegal hunting, epidemic illness, increase in predators population which lead to the reduction of the baits could be the other logical issues that cause this event.

All in all, the author should employ more evidence and data to corroborate his claims. he should address to which extend the hunters reports is valid, are other causes of the animals' fatality considered and further the migration behavior of deers in longer warm-periods.