Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

People like spending hours doing enjoyable activities in order to relax and spend a qualitative time, and for escape from reality. Some of the prefer fictional books, other watching movies. In my opinion, the latter one is better because it saves time and because of visual effects. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

To begin with, the duration of the movies is about two hours, and individuals do not have to spend plenty of time on this. Nowadays, most of the humans live at a rapid pace, inasmuch they have to deal with numerous responsibilities such us going to work, studying, cooking, cleaning, taking care of off-springs and so forth. As a consequence, individuals must organize efficiently their spare time, and reading books is not the best choice. Furthermore, all these activities are tiresome, and obviously watching a movie from a comfortable couch is less soliciting than reading a book, since books contain a lot of quintessential information that requires constant attention. For instance, back in college, I studied law, so there was a great amount of information I had to memorize. It was exhausting to learn by heart thousands of laws and rules, and applying these into practice was even more consuming. I can safely say that the last thing I needed was a book that requested my full attention. Not to mention that there were days where the concept of "free time" was nonexistent. As a result, I preferred to watch movies, because it was easier to follow the topic and engage with the action

To continue with, the film industry has significantly developed during the last decade, and many special effects improved. People's imagination went before boundaries, and they introduced us to unimaginable shows. Concepts as aliens with inhuman physical features, other beings, parallel universes, traveling through space and time, superheroes with superpowers, drag our attention and create excitement among viewers. Directors use high technologies in order to create all these details, and they provide to public unprecedented movies. Some would say that books contain the same details, but unfortunately, these do not contain visual effects, and therefore the impact is not as strong as movies'. For instance, one of my favorite films is Avatar. I have seen it a couple of times because I was impressed by the world design, a paradise that makes people dream about impossible things.

To summarize, as far as I am concerned, watching movies is more pleasant than reading fiction, mostly because I can save a lot of valuable time and because visual effects are more innovative than ever.