Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

Although it is undeniable that reading fiction books provide to some people a lot of amusement, I disagree with the idea that activity is more enjoyable than watching movies due to the reasons that I will expose in this essay.

First of all, reading demands more intellectual activity than watching a movie, making this is more tiring and less enjoyable. Activities that demand focus, such as studying and reading, are usually monotonous due to we have to receive the same stimulus during a certain period of time. In the case of reading a book, research indicates that people can perform this activity not more than 20-30 minutes without losing our focus. So, it is advised to take a break every half an hour to fresh our brain and continue reading. On the other hand, watching movies does not require high brain activity because you do not have to create a mental image of what is happening. Consequently, you can effectively receive information during a more prolonged period of time, which varies among 40 and 60 minutes. For instance, when I was an eleven-year-old child, I remember reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and stopping every half an hour because I could not continue doing the same tedious activity for more time. I also remember that when I went to the movies to watch that very same production I could watch it for almost two hours, without getting bored. Of course, I was not utterly focused on the movie all the time, but I understood it very well.

Second, in the movies, you can watch special effects and intriguing scenes that keep you captivated and enjoyed for more time. Some people lack knowledge or imagination, essentials to continue reading without stopping. These attributes are not so essential in movies because everything is on the screen. The scenes give you all the information you need to understand the context, which, by the way, it is easier to understand because the oral language is simpler than the written language of the books. Moreover, special effects can delight you. For instance, when I watch "Avatar" I got impressed by the amazing landscapes, special effects, and original creatures. I believe that I reading a book with a similar history would not be the same due to the fact that I could not have imagined those strange creatures and astonishing landmarks.

In summary, from my point of view watching movies is more amenable due to less mental effort in comparison to reading a book, and additionally, it gives you a greater experience due to the special effects and imaginative scenes.