If you were asked to send one thing representing your country to an international exhibition, what would you choose? Why? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

International exhibitions are important worldwide because they represent different cultures and help us to understand and assimilate a little of the traditions, history, or characteristics of other countries. My country, Chile, has a captivating history and is culturally enriched by the diversity of ethnicities you can find in it. If I had to choose an object to represent my cherished land in another country, I would choose a Moai, which is a sculpture made in Easter Island.

First of all, by exposing a Moai, people will know that Easter Island is part of Chile due to the fact that Moai sculptures were produced on that island many centuries ago. It is not well known that Chile is a tricontinental country, and by this, I mean that it owns territory in South America, Antarctica and in some islands in the Pacific Ocean, such as the Easter, Robinson Crusoe, and Juan Fernandez Islands. This variety in the lands that my country owns definitely enriches the Chilean culture and makes it more attractive for tourism. For example, I have known many foreigners that have been living in Chile who have had a strong desire to visit Easter Island. But ironically, they had not known that this island belongs to Chile until I told it to them.

Second, people may be amazed by the history behind Moais. These artworks made of volcanic rocks by aboriginal tribes are a complete mystery. We still do not know how these individuals could move these heavy creations from the place where they were sculpted to the place where they were found. There are many hypotheses, such as complex mechanisms of nodes and huge wagons made of light woods. But there is no certainty about them.

Third, by learning about the Moais, people will want to visit the Island because of its astonishing landscapes. Easter Island has many paradisiacal beaches and inactive volcanoes which tourists love to visit. The most popular place is the Anga Roa volcano which is a huge caldera that now is a lake in the top of a hill, surrounded by exotic vegetation.