A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety

The speaker unreasonably concludes that launching an education program which concentrates on the factors other than helmet and bicycle safety.The evidence is insubstantial,unrepresentative and mostly irrelevant to the issues involved.Therefore,unless a number of questions are answered satisfactorily,this cannot be considered as a cogent argument.

Firstly the speaker mentions about the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling.There is no sufficient data statistically about the ten years which would help us get an idea about what percent of people wearing helmet while riding a bicycle.He mentions the percentage of bicyclists wearing helmets based on what terms did the percentage was taken what if it was asked by people who are not regular users of bicycles.There was no clear information on the accidents caused by bicycling which increased to such huge percent.Was it because of bicycles or the people who are bicylcing were met with accidents on what basis the number of accidents happened were calculated into this percentage.

Secondly the results which demonstrates that bicyclists feel safer as they were wearing helmets was not mentioned by the speaker and the term which means take more risks what does this really mean.There might be a chance that there is no speed limit for bicycles so that is why people who are running late to work or college tend to use bicycles and to reach on time they increase their speed which can lead to accidents.So result which was demonstrated should have been mentioned with a clear statistical data to understand the argument more appropriately.The possiblity of accidents might be triple riding and many other factors which the speaker failed to mention.

Thirdly the speaker mentions that government should strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents but he forgot to the mention that whether it is caused to the bicyclists if so why did this happen was it due to overspeeding or what if the roads were not good enough to ride which lead to accidents.Launcing an education program wasn't a great initiative instead they can pass on a rule that if people do not wear helmets then they would be fined and also there was no requisite information on what he refers to factors other than helmet what kind of factors should the people be aware about other than helmet for bicycle safety.

In the conclusion this argument would have been more eloquent if the speaker had given more information related to the bicycle safety and the accidents occurred with a proper analysis of data.In the absence of the essential information this argument can't be deemed to be persuasive.