Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The speaker unreasonably concludes that to increases their number of users they should expand the coverage of weather and local news on news programs.The evidence is insubstantial,irrelevant and unrepresentative to the issues involved.Unless a number of questions were answered satisfactorily this cannot be considered as a cogent argument.

Firstly the speaker says that over past year is mentioned but it would be more evident if there was a statistical data from the previous year.It is mentioned that national news is more time consuming and there is less time for weather and local news.There was clear data of how long does each news take for example is it an hour or two hours that would me more helpful to analyse the argument and speaker says that viewers were concerned about coverage of weather and local news but it would be essential if it was given clear information which place it refers to is it a city or a state.Why were viewers exactly concerned to weather was there any hurricane or any bad weather conditions which was not covered in the news.

Secondly there is no clear information given about the local businesses advertise and the reason behind them cancelling the advertising contract has to been provided by the speaker to get an insight of it.What might be the reason for them to cancel was there any personal rivalry or is it regarding their company revenue loss are the details which helps in understanding the argument.

Thirdly the speaker is unclear as what is the relation between the advertising revenues and the coverage of weather and local news how are these two linked together and there might be a chance that viewers has decreased because of advertising is more when compared to actual information of news.How could coverage of weather and local news expansion would avoid them losing advertising revenues is not giving a clear idea of the argument.

In the conclusion this argument would have been more eloquent if the speaker had given more information on the expansion of the coverage of weather and local news would help them gain more viewers and related data has to be provided taken by the viewers on their point of view.Without ruling out alternative explanations and in the absence of requisite information this argument can't be deemed to be persuasive