The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores."In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are fam

The issue about the decreasing profitability of Movies Galore is complex and needs to account both micro and macroeconomic factors of company’s performance. The consideration of solely operating expenses may lead to the loss of competitiveness and short-term solution of the problem. To provide Movies Galore with a long-term growth, it is crucial to elaborate more on its internal and external business environments.

The claim on growing operating expenses of a company cannot fully characterize the issue. Primarily, each of firm’s shops could have own influential factor that reduces the profit, such as improper client service, low local demand for movies or the opening of another movie rental stores in a region. For example, when the overall tendency for buying movies falls down, the decrease of operating expenditures will not help company in restoring its profits. Therefore, it is essential for Movies Galore to conduct a complex market analysis and monitor which tendencies have changed and how they affect company’s performance.

The option of closing the store earlier than usual seems to be vague and not effective in all company’s branches. To back up this claim, it is necessary to verify the frequency of visits to each Movies Galore store per hour. For instance, when one store is more attended in daily time, another one can be most visited in the evening when people return home from their jobs and want to buy a movie in order to relax after hard day. Based on this, each store of company’s network should analyze when on average it has the ‘hottest’ visiting hours and adjust working schedule in correspondence with this analysis.

The additional evidence for weakening the argument may be a number of cinemas that have recently opened. The more alternatives to movie rental store appear in the market, the less clients will have each earlier established enterprise. Therefore, in order to compete with the cinemas Movies Galore needs to adopt innovations and adapt to the changing customer needs. Otherwise, it can lose competitiveness as Nokia has lost when smartphones with large screens were introduced in the market. In the example with Nokia, it did not follow the tendency and, consequently, lost a prevailing share of its customers. To prevent such outcome and recover the lost profitability, Movies Galore should invest its profit in innovation development.

In conclusion, Movies Galore is recommended to conduct a thorough market analysis before taking the simple decision on the reduction of operating costs. The problem may lie in the increasing number of competitors in movie market, change in consumer preferences or inadequate service offered to Movies Galore customers, and, thus, cannot be fully related to the working schedule of the company.