The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The process of doing business may sometimes entail false blames and accusations towards the competitors of a certain company. That is why the reader should accept any claim or suspicious statement made by a firm with a double attention and verify it for veracity. To assess the logical soundness of a vice president's claim, it is crucial to estimate separately each of its parts.

The prime factor to consider is the range of the partners of a building company. It can turn out that Good Intention Roadways is a rival of the one or constructor's main partners. In this case, the connection between the proclaimed accusation and Good Intention Roadways is evident. Probably, the firm that erects shopping malls just intended to undermine Roadways's reputation to benefit its partner. It the assumption is true, the action of a building company is out of business ethics and may seriously weaken the brand image of the company.

The logic of a statement made by vice president may also depend on his inner intentions. He could proclaim the unheard fact in order to attract attention to his personality and gain more popularity than the president of a company. Consequently, the shareholders of the building company would consider him to know more about the building industry than the president and on the next elections vote in his favour. To check this hypothesis, it would be necessary to know the proximity of the nearest Board meeting and the current position and duties of the vice president.

Apart from assumptions on the veracity of a claim, some evidence that can weaken or reinforce the statement should be mentioned. First, in the essence of a statement about the bad cracking of a surface, it would be reasonable to verify the quality of the road by a third party. In this way, with an objective assessment, the public can judge vice president's statement. The second verification of the truthfulness of a claim may lie in the investigation of previous conflicts between the building company and Good Intention Roadways. Were there some misunderstanding between the paving firm and shopping mall constructor, the misrepresentation of the information about Route 101 would be evident. As it follows, even with the naked eye it is possible to reassure about the soundness of the claim.

In conclusion, the statements about the quality of some work or material should always be assessed precisely. Only after figuring out the details of the relationship between arguing companies, the position of a speaker and the actual condition of the object it is possible to define the veracity or falseness of a claim.