Every individual in a society has a reponsbility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Most laws were created with the intent of being obeyed. For example, laws that prohibit cars from being parked on a particular street were created to prevent people from parking their cars there. Enforcement of laws typically involve some sort of punishment or consequence; in the case of a car parked in a prohibited location, a parking ticket fine would be levied. If that street was home to the fire department, that parking ticket, and thus the law itself, would seem just. Therefore, it seems logical that every individual in society has a responsibility to obey such just laws.

Generally speaking, obeying just laws help keep society in order. For example, many laws concerning violence - laws against harassment, murder, rape, and the like - are laws that, if followed, keep society safe and peaceful. If no one were to take reponsibility to obey these laws, it is possible that violence could take the streets and overwhelm society, just like in the movie "The Purge", where for one night, no laws apply and many acts of violence take place and cause chaos.

Just as it makes sense that individuals have responsibility to obey just laws, it is equally as logical that individuals have responsibility to disobey and resist unjust laws. This resistance to injustice can lead to changes in the laws themselves to make them more just. For example, Martin Luther King, Jr. led many nonviolent protests against the segregation between white and colored people. One such protest involved a group of black people peacefully sitting in the white section of a bar. These people were disobeying the law at the time, but most people today would agree that these segregation laws were unjust. Rosa Parks, another activist against segregation, performed her own protest by refusing to give up her seat for a white person. These people's resistance to these unjust laws eventually led to the overturning of these laws. Another example of the resistance to laws in favor for more just ones is when women in America fought for their right to vote in the early 20th century. The protests and resistance to the laws at the time led to more just laws allowing women to vote.

The aforementioned examples discussed how the obedience of just laws and the disobedience of unjust laws lead to a more just society. However, what makes a law "just"? These examples were taken in the context of Western society, more specifically, American society, but there may be places in the world where the meaning of "just" is completely different. In a dictatorship, for example, it may be "just" to kill or severely punish individuals who speak against the dictator. Many in Western society would not consider this law a just law, but those in that society may believe that it is just and that they should not resist it. It may seem "just" in some societies to force women to wear particular pieces of clothing while letting men wear whatever they want. In these cases, an individual may take responsibility to disobey these "just" laws in order to achieve what he or she feels just. On the other hand, those who believe these laws are just and follow them may actually be harming society.

Most lawmakers believe that the laws they write are just and should be followed accordingly. However, "just" is relative to a society's culture and norms, so while generally speaking, it may be beneficial for individuals in a society to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws, this may not apply in all cases.