Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Many believe that the sole responsibility of corporations is to make as much money as possible, whilst operating within the confines of the law. However, I believe that this line of thinking does not necessarily lead to a successful corporation and can even be potentially dangerous to the well-being of its workers and its environments.

The vast majority of major companies today have some form of program that promotes the well-being of its employees. Google, for example, is very well known for its comprehensive benefits package that focuses primarily on the well-being of the employees. Just to name a few of these benefits, employees at Google have access to an on-site gym, they have 'nap-pods' available for use in the office, and they have a flexi-time working schedule. Google is one of the most successful corporations in the world, and they recognize the importance of promoting well-being for its employees. Studies in organizational behavior have shown that if worker satisfaction drops, then worker productivivity also drops. Therefore, corporations cannot only think about making the most amount of money in order to be successful; they must also support the well-being of its employees.

However, some may argue that focusing too much on the well-being of employees and environment would take away resources from a corporation's day-to-day functioning. They may even go on to say that giving employees so many benefits can cause them to get complacent and lazy. To counter these arguments, as stated before, studies have shown that giving such benefits to employees actually cause productivity to go up. For example, there was an experiment in one of the Scandinavian countries that had some workers in a company to work only 6 hours a day instead of the normal 8 hours. The result was a surprise to many: productivity actually increased despite employees working less hours. This experiment supports the notion that putting money and resources into the well-being of employees actually benefits the company and does not take away from their productivity.

In addition to supporting the well-being of their employees, corporations also have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the environments that they operate in. If a corporation fails to take care of their environments, then soon enough the environment will stop taking care of them. For example, if a fishing company fails to keep in mind the consequences of overfishing and simply starts fishing as much as they can in order to make the most money, within a matter of years the fishing population in their environment dwindle until the company cannot fish any more. Hence, corporations have this responsibility to take care of their environments, if not only for the sake of their own well-being.

To conclude, corporations have much more responsibility than just making sure that they make money. They have the responsibility to promote the well-being of their employees and their environments. This not only benefits the employees themselves and the environments, but also benefits the company in the long run, even if it seems that spending money and resources on well-being takes away from their main profits.